Wisconsin Logo

Back

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Wisconsin

By Mary Lamphere

If you want to become a real estate agent in Wisconsin there are some standard requirements that you must first meet before the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing will provide you with a legal license to sell properties in the state. Applicants who wish to become certified must prove their competence in various area of real estate including real property law, real estate appraisal and real estate marketing.

Unlike many states, Wisconsin actually requires those who apply to become a real estate agent to first take part in a pre-license apprenticeship. Before you can apply for the pre-license you will be required to work under the direction of a licensed broker for a period of at least three days and 20 hours of total work. Six of the hours must include classroom study in preparation for the pre-license.

Following completion of the pre-license apprenticeship, you will be required to also complete the following education, exams and licensing procedures in order to become a real estate agent in Wisconsin:

  • Complete the real estate pre-license education requirement of 72 hours of total study
  • Pass the state licensing exam
  • Submit an application for a real estate sales license to the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (application will require supporting documents proving completion of proper education requirements

Education Requirements

In order to become a licensed real estate agent in Wisconsin you will be required to meet certain education requirements including the pre-license apprenticeship which includes at least 6 classroom hours as well as 72 hours of approved real estate course at a state approved real estate school. In lieu of the 72 hours of state approved real estate school, at least 10 credit hours of real estate classes or real estate law related courses at an institute of higher education can be supplemented. Applicants with bar membership or those with a certificate of good standing in the Wisconsin State Bar are not required to meet any other education requirements besides a proven ability to pass the provided real estate exams.

Applying for the Wisconsin Real Estate License

Once you meet the education requirements, you can start the process of applying to Pearson Vue for the state licensing exam. When you apply to take the exam, you will be required to provide proof that you have met the above education requirements and you will have to pay a fee of $69. This covers the cost of taking the test at a Pearson Vue moderated testing center.

Upon your completion and successful passing of the Wisconsin real estate licensing exam you will be required to provide fingerprints and submit to a criminal background check in order to be licensed by the state. Applicants who have convictions may be denied licensure but this will depend on considerations made by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. There is a fee of $75 for a new real estate sales license.

Upon receiving your Wisconsin real estate license, you will be required to renew your license every two years at a cost of $82. As a realtor in Wisconsin you will be required to complete 18 hours of continuing education every two years prior in order to be eligible for license renewal. Licensees may choose to take a 60 question examination in lieu of the continuing education but will be required to pass the exam in order to be eligible for license renewal.

Share this:

Comments

Leave a comment:

* Login in order to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join for Free



About The Author

Become an Expert Contributor

Have some knowledge to share, and want easy and effective exposure to our audience? Get your articles or guides featured on Wisconsin Real Estate today! Learn more about being an expert contributor.

Learn More